Asking the Bridesmaids

I asked two very special people to be my Bridesmaids, my sister and Maid of Honor A and Mr. Fenway’s sister, K. It was important to me to keep the bridal party intimate. I wanted to come up with a special way to ask each of “my ladies” and I hope that each of them liked the small way I had of asking them.

First, I made each of them a homemade card.


Supplies- scrapbooking pages and embellishments from Walmart, other craft supplies previously owned.


Front of card


Inside of the card with a poem that reads
“It’s hard to believe that in just a little while
Mr. Fenway and I will be walking down the aisle.
Nothing would give me more joy and pride
Than to have you there by my side.”
(*Names blurred for privacy)

Final details added and a close up showing the cuts made to backing paper using “fancy” scissors


Back of the envelope (which was hand delivered)

By the time I made the second card, I had learned NOT to use glue and to use double-sided tape to adhere the decorative paper with the wording, but you get the idea.

For my Bridesmaid, I wrote out a note and gave her the 27 Dresses DVD.


The note reads “I promise to never ask you to wear a bridesmaid dress like any of the ones in this movie.”

For my Maid of Honor, I made a similar card (obviously changing the text inside to ask if she would be my MOH instead of Bridesmaid) and included a few little gifts for her.


Pearl earing and necklace set from Amazon.com, Lolita stemless wineglass which I personalized with her name etched into it (more on that in a later post) and the Made of Honor DVD.

I was lucky in that both ladies said yes! I can’t wait to celebrate with them and I am honored to have them standing up next to me on our big day.

Did you do anything special to ask your ladies (or gentlemen) to stand up with you?

This entry was posted in Wedding.

Leave a Reply

