DIY Reception Ideas

Here are just a few of the DIY ideas I want to try for the reception, let’s see how many I can actually get done!

btl.3
I think it would be so cute to have these bottles somewhere- maybe spelling out LOVE?  Think I can get my father to grow some wheat for me for next year so it will be cheaper than buying it in a craft store? [Edit: apparently wheat doesn’t grow in New England?  Guess I am a total fail as a farmer’s daughter!]
I love this scrapbook paper tree vase thing.  It would be a fairly cheap project using scrap booking paper and my Cricut.  I like the mismatched but coordinating effect that this has and I think it would tie in with the mismatched but still coordinating vintage handkerchief idea.
I love love love the idea of making some cake/dessert stands from vintage plates and glasses (which is exactly how this was made).  Might be time to check out that famed antique district when I am home to see if I can pick up some pieces for this project.  Of course, it will be even better once we finalize what we will be having (pies, pastries, cupcakes, candy apples, a mix of everything?- my vote is totally with the mix of everything option!).
I love this garland- I think it would be fairly simple to make, after all I do have a circle cutting device already (and the Cricut of course) as well as a sewing machine.  It could be fun to whip some of this up to decorate our chairs or maybe add to the cheese and cracker table.
This could be fun to do with some chalkboard contact paper and my Cricut and Sure Cuts a Lot software (once I figure out how to make the pattern in Illustrator).  This might proove more challenging than it seems….
I LOVE this idea and got the supplies (cheap) for this today.  We’ll see how it works out.  I doubt I will get silverware quite as fancy as this, but I love the sentiment of the Mrs. and Mr. stamped silverware.  Maybe I can stamp a cake knife/cake server too!  Oh the possibilities!  I’m thinking people might be getting metal stamped gifts from me (think necklaces mainly) for Christmas this year as a lower budgeted handcrafted item.
Those are just some of my ideas, I am sure I will have a lot more.  I want to start early working on all the DIY projects so I am not overwhelmed by them and I still get the personalized hand crafted wedding that I envision.  Plus, a little at a time is fun, allot at a time not so much.
Do you have any ideas for DIY projects you are working on?  How soon before your wedding did you start on your projects?

Leave a Reply

