Supporting Small Business Saturday

In case you didn’t know about it, the Saturday after Thanksgiving is referred to as “Small Business Saturday,” a marketing push that is geared towards getting consumers to support small, local businesses (more on that here). As a consumer, I made sure to do my part in the days after Thanksgiving by not only participating in Black Friday shopping (not a fan of the switch to Midnight instead of 4 AM btw), but also in Small Business Saturday (and Still Shopping Sunday- ok I made up that last one). Since my sister hadn’t seen me in my dress yet, I made an appointment when I was home over Thanksgiving break to pop in and try on the dress on Saturday morning. Luckily, my sister approved. Of course while I was there I was coerced into trying on a veil- torture I tell ya- and I ended up buying it on the spot since as a part of Small Business Saturday, all veils and accessories were on sale for 50% off. Yep, that’s right half off.

Not that he reads this, but just in case:

 

 


Veil with the dress- small sneak peak before alterations

front view, again before alterations to the dress

Since I got such a great deal on the veil, I was more willing then I would normally be to spend some extra money on hair jewelry. Ok, the technical term is tiara, but hair jewelry seems more appropriate to me.

(Source)

While normally I would shy away from gold, it actually blended in well with my hair color and seemed to go well with the dress as well.
Sidenote: I am not sure I would have purchased this if it wasn’t on such a great sale and certainly not without the persuasion of the people who worked there.  I am wondering if I made a good choice with this, but it does make the veil look better and when I tried on the veil with and without it, I certainly liked it better with the “hair jewelry.”  I would caution other brides-to-be to try to avoid getting caught up in the whole but-it-makes-the-look-and-its-such-a-good-deal purchases at the bridal store.  Because chances are, you can get something better on Etsy even cheaper than the awesome sale price.  At least I resisted the jewelry that really wasn’t me though.  It’s amazing how good those bridal consultants are at their job, they are subtle but all of a sudden you are getting all kinds of things you didn’t know you needed.

For someone who has such a hard time making decisions, it seems the magical key word is wedding. Suddenly if it is for the wedding I have no problem making decisions in record time. Huh, who knew that’s all it took.

Did you get anything for your wedding (or for anything else) on Small Business Saturday?

This entry was posted in Wedding.

Leave a Reply

