Save the Date: Magnet Evolution

While the postcard didn’t undergo too many revisions, the magnet was another story. I thought it might be interesting to see the development from where I started to where we ended up.

My first version was just the image of the barn with our names and the date.

My first drafts used modified versions of this image of the barn:

(Source)


First draft

I thought it looked a little plain, so I added a heart (image found here and modified by me in Photoshop).

Better, but because of the business card size, the image was kind of stretched looking.

Tries numbers 3 and 4 used this image, modified by filters in photoshop:


(Source)


Clearly things got a little messed up removing Mr. Fenway’s name and the date, but you get the idea.

At this point, I decided (and Mr. Fenway insisted) that actual images of the barn weren’t really the way to go. I loved bunting, and decided to go in that direction.


First draft of new idea. The bunting was creating using photoshop brushes from here and here, the bride and groom clipart found here.


I then tried changing up the color of the silhouette.

It was getting there, but I thought the background was a little too plain.

I used heavily modified versions of the photo below in the rest of my drafts.


(Source)


without the silhouette


Final design, after moving the barn background image and playing with the colors of the barn and sillouette.

So there you have it, my process for designing the magnets. I know I am no graphic artist, but I was pretty happy with the way they turned out. I liked the subtle nod to the venue and that I incorporated Mr. Fenway’s silhouette request in a subtler way as well.

What do you think? Did you go through several drafts on elements of your Save the Dates (I just can’t seem to bring myself to call them STDs)?

* All images personal unless otherwise noted

Leave a comment